Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Listen to "Warzone," first track from Yoko Ono's forthcoming album

Below, hear "Warzone," the title track of Yoko Ono's album of the same name, which is out Oct. 19.


Following 20 albums over 50 years, Yoko Ono's Warzone is a strikingly different record from those she has previously made.

Revisiting and reimagining 13 songs from her past work, spanning 1970-2009, the lyrics and messages are still pertinent perhaps even more pertinent-in 2018. 

Recent U.S. presidents and many of our world leaders have never served in the military, yet they continually nourish and serve the corporate-infused military industrial complex, keeping the world in a perpetual warfare. Warzone further builds the legacy of an artist unparalleled in her unique and singular vision. With it's stripped down recordings and arrangements, and a particular emphasis on Yoko's voice and lyrics, the content of her message rings clear and unencumbered, with wisdom and fortitude her power has intensified with time and life experience. 

“The world is so messed up. Things are very difficult for everybody. It’s a warzone that we are living in…” says Ono. “I like to create things in a new way. Every day things change.” 

The recordings and arrangements on Warzone are very stripped down, with a particular emphasis on Yoko’s voice and lyrics. Here in this minimalist landscape the content of her message rings clear and unencumbered; sometimes somber warnings, sometimes uplifting encouragement, but her wisdom and fortitude are unflinchingly strong, her power having intensified with time and life experience. She ends the ominous questions of “Now Or Never” (1971) with one of her most famous and inspiring lines: “[a] Dream you dream alone is only a dream, but dream we dream together is reality.”

Warzone will be in stores on October 19 on Chimera Music, the label run by Sean Ono Lennon.  Leading up to the release date, Yoko will releasing a new song each Tuesday on her website ImaginePeace.com and on streaming services.

The album includes a new version of "Imagine," for which Yoko was awarded co-writing credit in 2017.

Here's the album's complete track listing:

1. Warzone
  2. Hell In Paradise
  3. Now or Never
  4. Where Do We Go From Here
  5. Woman Power
  6. It's Gonna Rain
  7. Why
  8. Children Power
  9. I Love All of Me
  10. Teddy Bear
  11. I'm Alive
  12. I Love You
  13. Earth
  14. Imagine

No comments:

Post a Comment